MacRory dreams shattered in Armagh!


Dreams were shattered for the St Paul’s MacRory Cup team as they lost out by a single point to St Patrick’s College, Maghera, in the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges MacRory Cup Final.

Played in the Athletic Grounds, Armagh, St Paul’s started brightly but two goals from St Patrick’s meant St Paul’s went in at half time trailing by four points.

Half time score:     St Paul’s, Bessbrook 0-03     St Patrick’s, Maghera 2-01

St Paul’s, in their first year at MacRory level, made a determined fightback in the second half.

Both teams exchanged points throughout the second half and late scores by Caolan McCullough and captain Ciaron O’Hanlon got St Paul’s to within one point of Maghera, with two-minutes of injury time to be played.

Unfortunately it was not to be, as St Patrick’s held on to win their 13th MacRory Cup title.

The St Paul’s team and management have had a tremendous year in their first year playing MacRory football.

Manager John Rafferty said after the game – ‘The way that they went about their football in the second half with the integrity that they showed was just top drawer. Only for a few key moments going against us it would be us with the smile on our faces. But that’s football. These boys have set the standard for the Junior students in our school and hopefully we can build on this.’

Full time score:     St Paul’s, Bessbrook 0-10     St Patrick’s, Maghera 2-05

We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate St Patrick’s, Maghera, on winning the MacRory Cup and wish them every success going on to represent Ulster in the All-Ireland Semi Final on Saturday 30th March.

St Paul’s Bessbrook : S McDonnell, J Cosgrove, C Boyle, K Mallon, P Campbell, D Nugent, G McCabe, A McKay [0-2], B Malone [0-1], E Burns [0-1], C McConville, C Mackin, C Nugent, C O’Hanlon [0-5], F Burns.

Sub : C Toner for McConville, C McCullough [0-1] for Mallon, M McNamee for F Burns, J Burns for Toner

St Patrick’s Maghera : C McCloy, C Glass, D Hughes, O Hegarty, C Mulholland, C Carville [1-0], C Gallagher, J Kearney, Peter Cassidy [0-1], C O’Doherty, G Bradley [0-2], D McFaul, Pádraig Cassidy, S O’Hara [1-1], D Tallon.

Subs : P Hagan for Pádraig Cassidy, C Convery [0-1] for McFaul, P McAtamney for Peter Cassidy


so proud of you all. A credit to your management and mentors, school, families, clubs and communities. You are all great ambassadors and should stand with your heads held high.

by patricia feehan on 19/03/2013 at 12:41 pm #

I wouldn’t be any prouder of you even if you had won it. You are a credit to yourselves, your families, your clubs and to Mr Rafferty and Mr O’Rourke. You have brought St Paul’s to a new level and I have no doubt that the example you have set will encourage the younger students for the future.Remember what I told you,”never look back”, the view ahead is even better!Well done!

by Oliver Mooney on 19/03/2013 at 4:01 pm #

Just want to say a big well done to the boys and the btec boys in my class, they played there hearts out, was so rippen i never got to go on the rip with them after…:(#NaomhPolabu

by Rachael Quinn on 20/03/2013 at 11:17 am #

Boys you are a credit to the school, your managers and your families.

by Freda Mackin on 21/03/2013 at 1:04 pm #

This has been a great journey, you have made history and set the bar for those who follow.

by John Campbell on 26/03/2013 at 11:07 pm #

Recent Comments