St Paul’s receive Ulster GAA Writers’ Association Award


 Mr John Graham of the Ulster GAA Writers’ Association presented a special award to St Paul’s Bessbrook to acknowledge their achievements in 2012 of winning the Ulster Colleges’ MacLarnon Cup and the All Ireland Colleges’ Noonan Cup. The award was received by last year’s All Ireland winning captain, Michael Murphy and mercurial forward, Jemar Hall. Also present were Ciaran O’Hanlon, the 2013 captain, and Eoghan Burns and Gregory McCabe all of whom were part of last year’s winning side.

Mr Martin O’Rourke, team coach and Mr Oliver Mooney, St Paul’s principal, thanked the Ulster GAA writers for recognising the school’s success since entering Colleges football in 2008 and said that they hoped this award would further encourage the young footballers of South Armagh to even more success.

St Paul’s have continued where they left off in 2012 with a sparkling unbeaten start to their first year in the MacRory campaign and have already claimed the MacCormick Cup by defeating St Patrick’s Maghera in a close pre Christmas encounter. They now proceed to the semi final of the MacRory competition on the back of victory over near neighbours, Abbey CBS in last week’s quarter final.

Mr Graham praised the efforts of the St Paul’s footballers and wished them well for the rest of 2013.

One comment

congratulations, another well deserved acknowledgement.

by patricia feehan on 15/02/2013 at 5:06 pm #

Recent Comments