Fond farewell to esteemed colleagues at St Paul’s

The close of a very busy and successful year at St Paul’s High School, Bessbrook offered the large staff an opportunity to recognise the long and dedicated service of eleven of their colleagues who retire at the end of the academic year.

Leading tributes to the retiring staff, Principal of St Paul’s, Mr Oliver Mooney commended their commitment to education and their dedication to the many hundreds of children who they taught and cared for over a combined total of 288 years.

At a special Mass in honour of the retiring members of staff, Vice-chair of the Board of Governors and celebrant, Very Rev Father Seán Larkin, offered his congratulations, and added his gratitude to the loyal service of the retiring staff.

Chair of Governors at St Paul’s, Mr John Campbell, paid tribute to the long service of the retiring staff and to their commitment to the education of generations of children from the South Armagh area.  He said their legacy and their dedication will be appreciated for generations to come.

The staff of St Paul’s saluted their retiring colleagues with presentations and gifts to teachers Miss Una McLaughlin (1973-2012), Senior Teacher, Mr Brendan Connolly (1976-2012), Mr Maurice McKey (1977-2012), Head of Art & Design, Mr Tony McParland (1978-2012), Head of Home Economics, Mrs Monica Tate (1979-2012), Head of Independent Learning, Mrs Mary Laverty (1990-2012), Head of Vocational Education, Mary McManus (2002-2012), School Matron, Mrs Angela Meehan (1992-2012), Classroom Assistant, Mrs Lelia McIntyre (1999-2012) and Classroom Assistant, Mrs Jane Poland (2000-2012).

Special recognition was given to Head of ICT, Mrs Brenda Murray, who is marking her silver jubilee as a teacher at the Bessbrook school, and presentations were made to staff who will get married during the summer holidays.

Principal, Mr Oliver Mooney, thanked his hardworking and dedicated staff for their commitment and efforts to the school, in a very special year which saw huge successes at examinations, on the sporting field and in the creative and expressive arts.  Mr Mooney extended his thanks to parents, family members and friends of St Paul’s who play an invaluable contribution to the success of the school.


Retiring members of teaching and non-teaching staff at St Paul’s High School, who will leave the school at the end of the academic year.

Back Row (L-R): Mrs Mary Laverty, Head of Independent Learning, Mary McManus, Head of Vocational Education, Miss Una McLaughlin, Mr Tony McParland, Head of Art & Design, Mr Brendan Connolly, Senior Teacher and Examinations Officer, Mr John Campbell, Chair of Governors.

Front Row (L-R):  Mrs Angela Meehan, School Matron, Mrs Monica Tate, Head of Home Economics, V Rev Father Seán Larkin, Vice-Chair of Governors, Mr Oliver Mooney, Principal and Mrs Lelia McIntyre, Classroom Assistant.



Principal of St Paul’s High School, Mr Oliver Mooney and Chair of Governors, Mr John Campbell acknowledge twenty-five years of dedicated service by Mrs Brenda Murray, Head of ICT







Principal of St Paul’s High School, Mr Oliver Mooney and Chair of Governors, Mr John Campbell acknowledge the contribution to the school of the work of Matron, Mrs Angela Meehan and Classroom Assistant, Mrs Lelia McIntyre.


One comment

Best wishes to all members of staff who are retiring this year. I had the pleasure of being taught by a few of them and recently my daughter too. x

by christina connolly on 22/06/2012 at 9:03 pm #

Recent Comments